New South Wales Bridge Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 7 December 2001

Apologies:

Terry Brown
Elizabeth Chadwick
James Meredith Fitzgerald
Eleanor Ruth Fitzgerald
David Griffiths
Rena Kaplan
Doug Lane
Patrick Mace
Matthew Todd (Stockford Audit and Assurance Services)
Sue Wright
Terry Wright

1 Meeting Opening

The meeting was opened at 7.30pm.

2 Confirmation of minutes of 7th December 2000

Motion: That (subject to two minor corrections) the minutes of the previous

meeting be approved as a true and accurate record of that meeting.

Moved: Eilis Magner Seconded: Bill Zorn

The motion was carried.

3 Matters Arising

There were no matters arising or correspondence relating to the previous AGM.

4 Annual Report and Accounts

The Annual Report and Balance Sheet had previously been circulated to all members. The Chairman called for any questions or discussion.

In response to a question from the floor, the Treasurer advised that there was no fixed term for the repayment of the loan to the NSWBA from the ABF. Repayments were made as and when the NSWBA was in a position to make them.

By way of explanation of the anticipated "loss" for the next two years, the Treasurer noted that a "loss" in the accounts would not necessarily cause the NSWBA a cash flow problem, due to the inclusion of non-cash expenditure items such as depreciation in the accounts. A loss of perhaps \$20,000 could be withstood without financial strain. It was important to note also that the value of the NSWBA premises is much greater than book value. Nevertheless, the NSWBA cannot expect to repay much of the outstanding loan balance for the next three years. The Treasurer declined to quantify the anticipated losses.

The Chairman said that the rate of decline of table numbers has slowed. The NSWBA premises are in the middle of a potential growth market (inner city areas). The marketing and teaching link that has been developed with WEA may produce results.

During discussion from the floor, various suggestions were made including:

- ➤ a proposal that the NSWBA should appoint an officer on a professional basis to improve table numbers;
- ➤ a proposal that the NSWBA should consider leasing out the premises for part of the time.

Motion: That the Annual Report and Accounts be adopted.

Moved: Mike Hughes Seconded: Keiran Crowe-Mai

The motion was carried.

5 Special Business

Council was asked from the floor concerning its attitude to the recent ABF decision to award masterpoints for internet bridge. Discussion ensued in which it was noted that the ABF decision would certainly not endear it to clubs. However, an argument was advanced that encouraging people to play on the internet will encourage people to play in clubs.

6 Election of Council and Other Officials for 2002

The Chairman vacated the Chair and the Acting Chairman, John De Ravin, noted that there was only one valid nomination for the position of Chairman and accordingly declared Keiran Crowe-Mai elected as Chairman of the NSWBA for 2002.

The Chairman resumed the Chair and noted that there only one valid nomination had been received for the position of Secretary and accordingly declared John De Ravin elected as Secretary of the NSWBA for 2002.

The Chairman noted that there only one valid nomination had been received for the position of Treasurer and accordingly declared Mike Hughes elected as Treasurer of the NSWBA for 2002.

The Chairman noted that only two valid nominations had been received for the five positions of Ordinary Councillor had been received and accordingly declared Julian Foster and Elisabeth Rasmussen elected as Ordinary Councillors of the NSWBA for 2002.

It was noted that the FABC had nominated Patrick Mace and Elizabeth Chadwick to fill two of the three positions to which the FABC was entitled to nominate Councillors.

Motion: That Doug Lane be reappointed as the honorary solicitor to the NSWBA

for 2002.

Moved Keiran Crowe-Mai Seconded John Arkinstall

The motion was carried.

Motion: That Stockford Audit and Assurance Services (previously Billerwell

Powers and Smith) be reappointed as auditors of the NSWBA.

Moved Keiran Crowe-Mai

Seconded Julian Foster

The motion was carried.

7 General Business

The Chairman said that Council wished to thank numerous members for their help during the year, especially but not limited to Peter Gill, Nick Hughes, Warren Lazer and Peter Newman.

The Chairman noted that both Bobby Evans and Kylie Robb were leaving Council. Bobby Evans had made valuable contributions especially in the area of House. Kylie Robb had always level-headed and had offered worthwhile counsel, and sadly her career with a merchant bank meant that she had less time available to contribute to the NSWBA.

A vote of thanks was carried by acclamation and a gift presented to Bobby Evans.

8 Closure

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 8.15pm.