held at Level 1, 162 Goulburn Street, Sydney

Wednesday 14 December 2022

MINUTES

1. Opening

The meeting was declared open at 6:02pm

Present: Chairman - John Scudder, Treasurer - Richard Lock, **Ordinary Councillors:**Agnes Levine (Secretary), Catherine Chaffey (via Zoom), Warren Lazer, Dagmar Neumann, Rob Ward. **Zonal Councillors:** Glenda Parmenter, Rakesh Kumar, John McIlrath, Gary Barwick (via Zoom), Susan McMahon (via Zoom), **Life Members:** Marcia Scudder, Julian Foster, Pauline Gumby, **Ordinary Members:** Sophie Ashton (via Zoom), Warren Robinson, John Blunt, Richard Douglas, Jacki Gruska, Phillip Halloran, Sylvia Halloran, Andre Korenhof, Daniella Nikolova, Barbara Oates, Alex Penklis, Greg Searle, Cheryl Sommers (via Zoom), Richard Thode, Robert Krochmalik, Maurits van der Vlugt, Yasmina Ward

Observers: Juanelle Portelli (SDJA Auditors) – Returning Officer; Don Grieve KC – Scrutineer, Honorary Solicitor – Alison Hanson (via Zoom), Wing Roberts (Manager), Elizabeth Sylvester (via Zoom),

The Chairman declared that a quorum was present, including those who joined the meeting through ZOOM. The meeting opened at 5:34pm.

The NSWBA Chairman, John Scudder, welcomed members and Juanelle Baldacchino from SDJA Auditors, the new auditors for NSWBA.

2. Apologies - nil

3. Confirmation of Minutes of Annual General Meeting 8 December 2021

Motion (J Scudder /C Chaffey): That the circulated minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 8 December 2021 be accepted as a true and accurate record of the proceedings of the meeting.

Motion CARRIED.

4. Business arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

5. Correspondence

There was no correspondence to report.

6. Special Business

- 6.1 Strategic Review update
- 6.2 Nominations were called for Zonal Councillors for the five Zones with the following elected unopposed on 8 December 2022 as Zonal Councillors and thereby becoming Directors of New South Wales Bridge Association Limited:

Southern Zone Rakesh Kumar (nominated by Southern Highlands Bridge Club)

Metropolitan Zone Gary Barwick (nominated by North Shore Bridge Club)

Outer Metropolitan Zone John McIlrath (nominated by Tomaree Bridge Club)

Northern Zone Glenda Parmenter (nominated by Armidale Bridge Club)

Western Zone Susan McMahon (nominated by Wagga Wagga Bridge Club)

7. Annual Report and Financial Statements

The 2021-22 Annual Report had been circulated and posted on the NSWBA website prior to the meeting. The report included separate statements from the Chairman, Treasurer, Events Committee Chairman, State Committee Chairman, Assets Committee Chairman and Chairman of the Operations Committee, in addition to the audited financial statements.

Motion (J Scudder / J Bellingham): *That the 2021-22 Annual Report be accepted.*

Motion CARRIED

8. Election of Council Chairman, Treasurer and Councillors

8.1 Chairman

A nomination had been received in respect of John Scudder for the position of Chairman (Proposer – M Scudder; Seconder– J Lawson)

. There were no other nominations, and he was declared elected.

8.2 Treasurer

A nomination had been received in respect of Richard Lock for the position of Treasurer (Proposer – A Levine; Seconder– J Scudder). There were no other nominations, and he was declared elected.

8.3 Six Ordinary Councillors

Eight nominations had been received for the six positions of Ordinary Councillor.

The following eight nominations for six vacancies have been received:

Martin Brown (Proposer – R Ward; Seconder – G McKenzie)

Catherine Chaffey (Proposer – E Tonkin; Seconder – D Neumann)

Phillip Halloran (Proposer – R Ward; Seconder – J Scudder)

Warren Lazer (Proposer – P Gumby; Seconder – W Roberts)

Agnes Levine (Proposer – J Scudder – Seconder – P Halloran

Dagmar Neumann (Proposer – Andre Korenhof; Seconder – Maurits van der Vlugt)

Warren Robinson (Proposer – R Ward; Seconder – J Scudder)

Rob Ward (Proposer - A Levine; Seconder - J Scudder)

Martin Brown advised verbally on the afternoon of 14 December that he wished to withdraw his nomination.

As there were more candidates than vacant positions a poll was held in accordance with the NSWBA By-Law on voting procedures.

Following an earlier Motion carried by Council Juanelle Portelli, from the NSWBA auditors, was the Returning Officer and Don Grieve KC was the Scrutineer.

The following were elected as Ordinary Councillors:

Warren Lazer, Dagmar Neumann, Agnes Levine, Rob Ward, Phillip Halloran and Warren Robinson.

9. Appointment of Honorary Solicitor

One nomination had been received for the position of Honorary Solicitor, that of Alison Hanson. Alison Hanson was declared elected.

10. General Business

The Chairman opened the floor to any questions or comments members wished to make.

Robert Krochmalik questioned whether the 2022 Interstate Team Selection would be conducted online with *RealBridge*. Warren Lazer, Chairman of the Events Committee, explained that a survey conducted in July 2021 of Monday night competitions found that 2:1 players were in favour of continuing *RealBridge* and not returning to F2F. Reasons included the problems associated with city traffic and distances to be travelled to get to Goulburn Street, late nights, especially in winter and general convenience. He noted that 20% of players were drawn from the regions, outside Sydney. No survey has been conducted since the end of lockdowns, but one is proposed for early 2023, possibly in March, acknowledging a possible change in opinion with the successful return to F2F bridge in daytime sessions.

Discussion followed re equity of access, especially for selection into the State Teams. It was noted that those in regional NSW or living far from the city have been able to play online in a more competitive field than just their local clubs or congresses.

Exploring the possibility of hybrid events (a combination of F2F and online) is a challenge. The Events Committee will consider options in the first half of 2023.

A discussion on the reasons for the failure of Zonal Councillors to nominate for 4/5 Zones was initiated by Alan Bustany. The focus on the NSWBA Director responsibilities, especially in relation to the finances associated with the running of a bridge club, has been a long-standing issue for Zonal Councillors, being Directors of the Company and accountable yet not associated with the bridge club activities.

Rob Ward noted that the issue has been apparent for over 10 years. He praised the current workings of the State Committee, as did the Chairman, John Scudder, who also acknowledged Glenda Parmenter's leadership of the State Committee with her enthusiasm for addressing the problems, with the assistance and engagement of the Regional Representatives. The Chairman undertook to have Council examine the Constitution and the role of Zonal Councillors.

11. Closure

The Chairman thanked those who attended in person and virtually. The meeting was declared closed at 7.05pm.